Nieuws: The Waterboys 1985

The Waterboys - 1985 (

1985 is a new 6CD box set that tells the story of the making of The Waterboys’ third studio album This Is The Sea.

Curated by the band’s leader Mike Scott, 1985 takes the listener through 95 tracks including a staggering 64 previously unreleased recordings of home recordings, early demos, alternate versions, outtakes, live recordings, and tv/radio sessions. It covers the recording process of the album and the sixth and final disc is a remastered version of the This Is The Sea album.

The Waterboys - 1985 boxset (

The box set comes with a massive book 220-page hard cover book containing a first-hand account of the creation of the album with deep recording details, background, cultural context, photographs (many previously unseen), songwriting pages, lyrics and previously unseen writings. Text is by Waterboys’ singer and songwriter Mike Scott with additional sections by Anthony Thistlethwaite and Max Edie.

This large format presentation (288mm x 255mm) is a limited edition of only 3,000 units worldwide. A clear vinyl 180g pressing of the remastered This Is The Sea will also be available.

The 1985 6CD box set and the vinyl reissue of This Is The Sea will be released on 23 February 2024 via Chrysalis Records.

CD 1: Towers Open Fire:

  • Trumpets (Session)
  • Be My Enemy (Prototype 3)
  • The Ways Of Men (Session)
  • The Waves #1
  • Old England (Demo)
  • Towers Open Fire
  • Down Through The Town
  • Ribbon Of Steel (Live)
  • Bury My Heart (Live)
  • The Three Day Man (Live)
  • Medicine Bow (Session)
  • This Is The Sea (Live)
  • A Door For My Soul Home (Demo)
  • Son Of Rags
  • In My Bed
  • The Pan Within (Inst Demo)
  • Even The Trees Are Dancing (Full Length)
  • Theme
  • Fuzz Guitar Vamp
  • Death Is Not The End

CD 2: The Black Book:

  • Beverly Penn (Piano Demo)
  • Don’t Bang The Drum (Piano Demo)
  • Be My Enemy (Piano Demo)
  • The Day I Ran Out Of People
  • Winter Blows
  • The Mercenary And The Samaritan
  • Looking For Dickon
  • Spirit (Piano Demo)
  • All The Bright Horses
  • Custer’s Blues (Piano Demo) / The Woman In Me
  • Paris In The Rain
  • The Song Of Sitting Bull
  • Talk About Wings
  • The Whole of The Moon (Writing of)
  • The Pan Within (Piano Demo)
  • No Sun In The Sky
  • Winter In The Blood
  • We Belong To The World
  • The Whole of The Moon (Piano Demo)

CD 3: A Sky Full Of Crows:

  • Medicine Jack
  • Medicine Jack Boogie-Woogie
  • The Sound Of Snow
  • The Pan Within (Inst)
  • It Should Have Been You, Guitar Play
  • Old England (Early Take)
  • Old Macmichael Had A Band / Sweet Thing
  • Ruby Don’t Take Your Love To Town
  • Spirit (Full Length)
  • Then You Hold Me
  • Trumpets (Instr #1)
  • Rain Come Down
  • Son of Dirt
  • This Is The Sea (Drumatix Version)

CD 4: The Ladder

  • Medicine Bow (Elemental Rough Mix)
  • Trumpets (Inst #2)
  • Be My Enemy (Rough Mix)
  • Sleek White Schooner
  • Sweetheart Like You
  • This Is The Sea (Fast with Mike Lead Guitar Demo)
  • Adrian And The Piano Storm
  • Beverly Penn (Synth Version)
  • This Is The Sea (Fast with Tom Verlaine Lead Guitar Version)
  • The Waves #2
  • The Ladder (Demo)
  • Beverly Penn
  • Don’t Bang The Drum (Livingston Mix)
  • Ribbon of Steel Slide Guitar
  • Paisley Park

CD 5: Mountaintop:

  • The Whole of The Moon (Livingston Mix)
  • High Far Soon
  • This Is The Sea (Livingston Mix)
  • Medicine Bow (Full Length)
  • The Pan Within (Wickham’s First Play)
  • Miracle / World Party (Demo)
  • I Am Not Here
  • Born To Be Together (Session)
  • Higher In Time (Session)
  • The Whole of The Moon (Video Version)
  • Meridian West
  • Don’t Bang The Drum (Session)
  • Medicine Bow (Session)
  • Behold The Sea
  • Beverly Penn 2023

CD 6: This Is The Sea (The Album)

  • Don’t Bang The Drum
  • The Whole of The Moon
  • Spirit
  • The Pan Within
  • Medicine Bow
  • Old England
  • Be My Enemy
  • Trumpets
  • This Is The Sea


1 reacties

    • Andre op 07-01-2024 om 07:40
    • Reageer


Complimenten/opmerkingen? Graag!